Department of Communication

Tap into the POWER of Communication

About Department: Faculty & Staff

Carolyn Carlson

Assistant Professor of Communication

Contact Information

Office: Social Sciences (SO 402), Room 5090
Phone: 470-578-2417
Fax: 470-578-9153


Carolyn S. Carlson is an Assistant Professor of Communication in the Journalism and Citizen Media concentration at KSU. She has been researching the relationship between reporters and government public relations professionals. A report on her research received widespread attention during national Sunshine Week in March 2012. She teaches the reporting and writing classes, advanced media writing, the capstone course and media law. In August 2012, she took a group of Communication students to the Republican National Convention to report on it for a campus website.

Before entering academia, Dr. Carlson worked as a political press secretary and as a longtime reporter and editor for The Associated Press. She was also a reporter for 5 years on The Augusta (Ga.) Chronicle and the Orlando (Fla.) Sentinel. While at the AP, she served as national president of the Society of Professional Journalists, which is the oldest and largest professional organization serving the news media. She is a former chair of the SPJ Ethics Committee and is currently a member of the SPJ Freedom of Information Committee. She is also adviser to the SPJ chapter at Kennesaw State.

Dr. Carlson is the recipient of many awards, including SPJ’s highest honor for a member, the Wells Key, which she received in 1993, and the SPJ First Amendment Award, which she received in 1998 for founding the multi-organizational Campus Courts Task Force for its success in changing federal law to increase public access to college disciplinary records involving serious crime.

Faculty and Staff

Allison, Audrey
Aust, Chuck
Aust, Philip
Azriel, Josh
Barron, Cait
Barton, Kris
Beach, Donna
Booth, Lauren
Boyer, Alan
Brooks, John
Carlson, Carolyn
Carnevale, Kate
Channel, Amani
Crotts, Rick
Davenport, Angela
Davidson, Jaye
Dudenhoeffer, Teresa
Ellison, Soyia
Gainey, Barbara
Gao, May
Gibson, Chad
Gillman, Tim
Gray, Thomas
Gregory, David
Grindel, Trisha
Hammiller, Meghan
Heflin, Kristen
Holler, Emily
Howes, Pauline
Hutcheson, Peggy
Hutchins, Amber
Jersey, Valerie
Johnson, Sarah
Johnson, Desirae
Jones, Jeannine
Jordan, Jeannette
Kelly, Bert
Kim, Heeman
Kperogi, Farooq
Latino, Pete
Leifheit-Little, Jennifer
Mallory, James
Manguno, Joe
Mayo, Buddy
McDonald, Jim
McNeill, Jake
Milligan, Cindy
Phillips, Jan
Pressley, Karen
Quinn, Jessica
Rinker, Sue
Ryan, Erin
Smith, Alyssa
Welborn, Kerry
Wertz, Emma
Williamson, Shannon
Witt, Len
Womack, Deanna
Wood, Vallorie